List of All Books Published (first publication date only)


The Lagoon and other stories (incorrectly dated 1951, published 1952) stories

Owls Do Cry (1957) novel

Faces in the Water (1961) novel

The Edge of the Alphabet (1962) novel

Scented Gardens for the Blind (1963) novel

Snowman Snowman: Fables and Fantasies (1963) stories

The Reservoir: Stories and Sketches (1963) stories

The Adaptable Man (1965) novel

A State of Siege (1966) novel

The Reservoir and other stories (1966) stories

The Pocket Mirror (1967) poems

The Rainbirds (1968) novel

(published in the USA as Yellow Flowers in the Antipodean Room)

Mona Minim and the Smell of the Sun (1969) children's book

Intensive Care (1970) novel

Daughter Buffalo (1972) novel

Living in the Maniototo (1979) novel

To The Is-Land (1982) autobiography Volume 1

You Are Now Entering the Human Heart (1983) stories

An Angel at My Table (1984) autobiography Volume 2

The Envoy from Mirror City (1985) autobiography Volume 3

The Carpathians (1988) novel

An Angel At My Table: The Complete Autobiography (Three-volume omnibus) 1989

Posthumous Publications

The Goose Bath (2006) poems

Towards Another Summer (2007) novel

Storms Will Tell: Selected Poems (2008) (Includes the complete text of The Goose Bath)

Prizes: Selected Short Stories (2009) stories (Published in UK and Australia as The Daylight & the Dust: Selected Short Stories)

Dear Charles, Dear Janet: Frame & Brasch in Correspondence (2010) fine edition, letters

Janet Frame in Her Own Words (2011)

Gorse is Not People: New and Uncollected Stories (2012) (Published in the USA as Between My Father and the King: New and Uncollected Stories)

In the Memorial Room (2013) novel

The Mijo Tree (2013) novella

Jay to Bee: Janet Frame’s Letters to William Theophilus Brown 1969-1971 (2016)